Whether you grew up eagerly awaiting the next book of the Harry Potter series to be released, or have recently just discovered them after watching the movies, it seems impossible to think of any other books that can compare to the magic that author, J.K. Rowling has brought to us. 

But if you looked hard enough, there are other books out there that contain the same elements of friendship, magic, and adventure. Well, you don't have to look hard at all, as here's a list of 10 books that are just as magical as the Harry Potter series, and they can all be borrowed from libraries in Singapore:

1. The Magicians, Lev Grossman

Screen Shot 2017-02-10 at 6.25.03 PM.png

What is it about: Quentin Coldwater is a student who applied for a prestigious college in New York, only to find out that it's an exclusive school of magic. He and his friends travel in pursuit of finding a magical land, but when fellow students in the college starts getting murdered by an unknown entity, what they actually find is more than what they bargained for. The Magicians is the first book in a trilogy, with the other two being The Magician King, and The Magician's Land.  

Available at these libraries

2. Percy Jackson - The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan

Screen Shot 2017-02-10 at 6.55.02 PM.png

What is it about: Percy Jackson is a young boy who faces several strange, supernatural encounters, only to discover that he is actually the son of Poseidon. If you like mythology, then this is definitely the series for you. From Greek Gods, to monsters like Medusa, the Percy Jackson series is an adrenaline-filled ride from start to end. I personally like that it features strong female characters as well. *cough*Hermione for the win*cough* 

Available at these libraries

3. Shadow and Bone, Leigh Bardugo

What is it about: Shadow and Bone is the first book in what is also known as The Grisha Trilogy. A bit darker than Harry Potter was, the trilogy follows Alina Starkov, a teenage orphan whose entire life was transformed after unexpectedly harnessing a power she never knew she had to save her best friend. Bonus: there’s an excellent school for magic in here too!

Available at these libraries

4. The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials), Philip Pullman

51to4BDYeNL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

What is it about: Set in an alternate universe where part of everyone's soul lives outside a person as an animal companion, The Golden Compass tells the story of a young girl named Lyra journeying on an epic quest to find her kidnapped friend and being embroiled into a cosmic war over a mysterious floating city carrying the secrets of “Dust”. It's a dark and intriguing world, and as the story unfolds, we see Lyra overcoming great obstacles and growing into a strong, confident woman.

Available at these libraries

5. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss

What is it about: The book starts with the young life of Kvothe as a young adult in the University where he learns many skills and magical prowess while seeking vengeance against the evil beings who killed his family - the Chandrian - whose appearance are supposedly heralded by flames turning blue. As the story progress, it also cuts back to the "present day" where Kvothe is now an adult. It's easy to get invested in the characters of the books and their moral decisions. There are talks of a third book being released soon!

Available at these libraries

6. Inkheart, Cornelia Funke

What is it about: A 12-year-old girl named Meggie learns that her father can bring fictional characters to life. One night while reading a book called Inkheart, an evil ruler escapes and abducts them both. Meggie must learn to harness the magic that caused this nightmare so she can change the course of the story. It's beautiful and weird, but the adventure and a cool family dynamic makes up for it. 

Available at these libraries

7. Graceling, Kristin Cashore

What is it about: Katsa, a strong yet vulnerable teenage girl, lives in a society where people are given a Grace, which is a sort of special talent. Katsa’s special talent is..... killing, and she is forced to use her skills to do her uncle’s dirty work. But Katsa goes in search of a way to put her talents to good use. If you are missing magic and strong female protagonists, like Hermione, Professor McGonagall, or Luna, Graceling is the story for you.

Available at these libraries

8. The Amulet of Samarkand, Jonathan Stroud

What is it about: In the first book of The Bartimaeus Trilogy, we are introduced to Nathaniel, a magician in training, who is sold to the government at a young age and forced to live as an apprentice. When Nathaniel is humiliated by ruthless magician Simon Lovelace and betrayed by his master, he vows revenge. Nathaniel summons 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to avenge Simon by stealing the Amulet of Samarkand, but he ends up setting himself on a journey filled with danger and threats. 

Available at these libraries

9. Neverwhere, Neil Gaiman

What is it about: Richard Mayhew, an ordinary businessman with a good heart, stops to help a mysterious, bleeding girl on a pavement and his world is forever changed. He falls through the cracks of the pavement and lands under the streets of London, a city filled with monsters, angels, murderers and more. Neil Gaiman is a master at creating an immersive world with relatable characters, all the while being funny, dark, and action-packed. Richard come into his role as a hero just like Harry does — stumbling and fumbling all the way.

Available at these libraries

10. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs

What is it about: We recommended the movie when it was released last year. It basically contains all plot points a Harry Potter enthusiast loves: a band of children with fantastic powers saving the world, mentors who turn into animals, sly time travel and other sorts of transportation, the idea that you could grow up as usual and become unusual, young love, etc. But the author, Ransom Riggs, takes a whole lot more twists and turns in his series. Did we mention that he also includes real historical pictures into his books? Very engrossing.

Available at these libraries